Thank you for your patience during the Morehouse College National Alumni Association (MCNAA) 2018 election season. As you know, the election results were recently certified, and the winners have since been announced. We are excited to welcome our new officers, and are pleased to congratulate our incumbent officers on their re-election.

This correspondence is to inform you of recent administrative changes within MCNAA. As of Friday April 6, 2018, Dargan Burns III ‘80 is no longer the Executive Director of MCNAA, and as of that date is not authorized to transact any business on the Association’s behalf.  A letter from MCNAA President Howard Willis ’76 communicating this information is included below. Our remaining staff members, Candis White and Zsa Zsa Lambert-Hall will continue their employment with the Association. We very much appreciate their work and professionalism during this transition. Vice President at Large Bud Willis ’86, Region IX RVP Michael Bryant ’87, and Region V RVP John Watson ’87 have been assigned by President Willis to supervise the current staff through our fiscal year end of June 30, 2018. Effective July 1, 2018 President Elect Marlon Cousin ’87 and Vice President At-Large elect Shadeed Abdul-Salaam ’00 will take office and will subsequently communicate our future staffing plans.

We also would like to clarify an aspect of the election that may have been a source of confusion. Alumnus Burns had intended to run as a candidate for Treasurer, but did not submit the required documents in order to qualify. He was mistakenly placed on the ballot, an error that is the sole responsibility of the MCNAA board of directors. The board subsequently acknowledged the error, and voted to disqualify Alumnus Burns so as not to compromise the integrity of the election process. A letter communicating the decision from election chairman Don Long ’64 is below. We sincerely regret our error and any confusion that it may have caused.

Should you receive any form of communication from Alumnus Burns, please note that he is no longer associated with the board or staff of MCNAA and is not authorized to transact any business on the Association’s behalf. Also, please note that any official MCNAA email communications are originated from either or mcnaa@morehouse.eduLastly, please refer to the following link on our website to reference our current officers should you have questions or suggestions:

Thank you for your patience and continued support of MCNAA. We look forward to a bright future!

The Morehouse College National Alumni Association Board of Directors

Dr. Howard C. Willis ’76, President
M. Bud Willis ’86 Vice President at Large
Emanuel Payton ’85 Secretary
Touissant Gaskins ’92 Treasurer and Region II Vice President
Alonzo Robertson ’90 Financial Secretary
Thomas Scott ’84 Assistant Financial Secretary
Dr. Jeffrey L. Anderson ’97 Region I Vice President
Jeffrey Kellar ’84 Region III Vice President
Eric Guthrie ’88 Region IV Vice President
John Watson ’87 Region V Vice President
George Thompson ’66 Region VI Vice President
Emmett T. Robbins ’84 Region VII Vice President
Donald Long ’64 Region VIII Vice President
Michael Bryant ’87 Region IX Vice President

Morehouse Alumni Association

Author Morehouse Alumni Association

More posts by Morehouse Alumni Association

Leave a Reply